PolityPDF: Full list of Current Governors in India- Updated


Hi friends, In this article we are providing you the Latest List of Governor and Chief Ministers of States. This will be helpfulfor upcoming Exams. Important for SSC

Though there will be no direct questions will be asked about who is heading which state, these will be indirectly useful in answering other questions in SSC CGL , IBPS, SSC CPO And Other State Level Exams.

The Governors in India are the constitutional heads. They are heads of the twenty-nine states. Moreover, they are appointed by the President for a term of five years. Governors are the figurative head of the state government. A governor must act according to the advice of council ministers, headed by the chief minister.

Read on to find more about Governors in India. Don’t forget to download these Static GK notes on Governors in India in PDF format!

Current Governors in India States

Andhra PradeshE.S.L. Narasimhan
Arunachal PradeshPadmanabha Acharya
AssamBhanwarilal Purohit
BiharKeshari Nath Tripathi
ChhattisgarhRam Naresh Yadav
GoaMridula Sinha
GujaratOm Prakash Kohli
HaryanaKaptan Singh Solanki
Himachal PradeshAcharya Dev Vrat
Jammu and KashmirNarinder Nath Vohra
JharkhandDraupadi Murmu
KarnatakaVajubhai Rudabhai Vala
KeralaP. Sathasivam
Madhya PradeshOm Prakash Kohli
MaharashtraC. Vidyasagar Rao
ManipurNajma. A Heptulla
MeghalayaBanwarilal Purohit
MizoramNirbhay Sharma
NagalandPadmanabha Acharya
OdishaDr S.C. Jamir
PunjabV P Singh Badnore
RajasthanKalyan Singh
SikkimShriniwas Dadasaheb Patil
Tamil NaduC Vidyasagar Rao
TelanganaE.S.L. Narasimhan
TripuraTathagata Roy
Uttar PradeshRam Naik
UttarakhandKrishan Kant Paul
West BengalKeshari Nath Tripathi

Union Territories & Their Lieutenant-Governors

Union TerritoriesGovernors
Andamans & Nicobar IslandsJagdish Mukhi
DelhiAnil Baijal
PuducherryKiran Bedi
ChandigarhV. P. Singh Badnore
Dadra & Nagar HaveliPraful Khoda Patel
Daman & DiuPraful Khoda Patel
LakshadweepFarooq Khan

Some Trivia about Governors in India

  • Sarojini Naidu was the first female Governor of an Indian State. As a result, she governed United Provinces of Agra & Oudh (now Uttar Pradesh) from 15 August 1947 – 2 March 1949.
  • Padmaja Naidu, daughter of Sarojini Naidu, was the longest serving Governor of a state. with a serving tenure of 11 years in West Bengal.
  • Draupadi Murmu is the first woman governor of Jharkhand.
  • A.K. Kidwai is the longest serving Governor, serving as Governors for Bihar, West Bengal and Haryana.
  • Articles 157 and 158 of the Constitution of India deal with eligibility requirements of a Governor of India.
  • The eligibility criteria are:
    • Citizenship of India.
    • 35 years of age or more.
    • Not an MP or MLA.
    • Not a holder of any other office of profit.

You can find details about other GK topics here:


Leave A Reply