Friday, 12 February 2016

20 cities shortlisted under Smart Cities Mission

20 cities from 11 States and Delhi Union Territory have been shortlisted in the list of first group of Smart Cities Mission by the Union Ministry of Urban Development. These shortlisted cities were selected from Smart City Challenge competition in which 97 cities and towns had participated from 23 States and UTs.

20 shortlisted smart cities (Rank wise) are as the following:

1) Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

2) Pune, Maharashtra.

3) Jaipur, Rajasthan.

4) Surat, Gujarat.

5) Kochi, Kerala.

6) Ahmedabad, Gujarat.

7) Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh.

8) Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh.

9) Solapur, Maharashtra.

10) Davangere, Karnataka.

11) Indore, Madhya Pradesh.

12) New Delhi Municipal Corporation.

13) Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu.

14) Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh.

15) Belagavi, Karnataka.

16) Udaipur, Rajasthan.

17) Guwahati, Assam.

18) Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

19) Ludhiana, Punjab.

20) Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.


About Smart City: A smart city is highly advanced urban region in matters of overall infrastructure, communications, sustainable real estate and market viability. In this city information technology (IT) is  the principal infrastructure and the basis for providing necessary services to residents. There are many technological platforms involved the principal infrastructure of the smart cities and it is not limited to automated sensor networks and data centers.

No comments:

Post a Comment